NASCAR lineup in Bristol: start order, pole for Sunday’s race without qualifying

The rain forced NASCAR to cancel the Cup and Truck Series qualifying races scheduled for Saturday at Bristol Motor Speedway. NASCAR will now go straight to racing in both series on Sunday.

With the rainy heat races, the starting lineup for the Cup race was determined by the mathematical formula used by NASCAR for non-qualifying races.

The drivers’ starting positions for the Food City Dirt Race (3:30 p.m. ET TV time, 4 p.m. Green Flag; Fox, TSN5, PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) were based on four factors:

  • Finish position of the driver from the previous race (25%)
  • Final position of the car owner compared to the previous race (25%)
  • Team owner point ranking (35%)
  • Fastest lap of the previous race (15%)

Below is the starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR race on the 0.533 mile dirt track in Bristol, which was established without qualifying.

AFTER: Watch Sunday’s NASCAR Race Live with fuboTV (7 Day Free Trial)

Who won pole for the NASCAR race in Bristol?

Kyle Larson took pole position after Saturday’s qualifying races were canceled. Larson is second in the Cup Series points standings after six races, with one win, three top-five and five top-10. Points leader Denny Hamlin will start outside Larson in second. Hamlin has no wins but five top five and five top 10.

Larson’s championship experience as a dirt runner should make him an even bigger favorite to win Sunday’s race.

The rest of the top 10 after Larson and Hamlin: Ryan Blaney, Kyle Busch, Martin Truex Jr., Kevin Harvick, Alex Bowman, William Byron, Austin Dillon and Joey Logano.

NASCAR start line in Bristol

The starting line-up for Sunday’s race in Bristol was determined using a NASCAR mathematical formula adopted at the end of the 2020 season. The formula produced this starting line-up for Sunday’s NASCAR race at Bristol Motor Speedway, The Food City Dirt Race:

Driver Car number Team
Kyle larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
Denny hamlin 11 Joe gibbs racing
Ryan blaney 12 Penske team
Kyle busch 18 Joe gibbs racing
Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe gibbs racing
Kevin harvick 4 Stewart-Haas races
Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
William byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
Austin dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
Joey logano 22 Penske team
Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood brothers racing
Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
Ryan newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
Christopher bell 20 Joe gibbs racing
Michael mcdowell 34 Motorsport in the front row
Ross chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
Daniel Suarez placeholder image 99 Track race
Bubba wallace 23 23XI Race
Brad Keselowski 2 Penske team
Cole custer 41 Stewart-Haas races
Ryan preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
Aric almirola ten Stewart-Haas races
Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas races
Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
Tyler reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
Kurt busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
Anthony Alfredo 38 Motorsport in the front row
Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
Cody ware 51 Petty ware racing
Stewart friesen 77 Spire Motorsports
Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
JJ Yeley 53 Rick ware racing
Shane Golobic 78 Fast live motor sports
Chris Windom 15 Rick ware racing
Josh Bilicki 52 Rick ware racing
Mike Marlar 66 Motorsport business management
Ty dillon 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *